Millions Of Boxes Of Cheerios Recalled
Before you have your breakfast this morning, make sure your Cheerios are okay to eat.
Seems like just the other day the first Gluten Free Cheerios ads started airing, but already the company has to issue on those same boxes of cereal.
General Mills says they are recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios from their Lodi, California plant because they are labeled gluten free, but may actually contain wheat.
The boxes were packaged in July and in a statement released on Monday, the company says wheat flour was inadvertently used in a gluten-free oat flour system.
So how can you tell if your box is affected?
The cereal boxes have the plant code "LD." The Cheerios have "better if used by" dates from July 14 to July 17, 2016 and the Honey Nut Cheerios have "better if used by" dates of July 12 to 25, 2016.
Of course if you aren't allergic to gluten, these Cheerios are just fine to eat. However with gluten-free Cheerios being so new the company does say their "biggest concern is over reputational risk, because the new gluten-free Cheerios just launched."