United Way of Greater New Bedford will coordinate the federal funds for the programs in this area.

According to a recent press release, Bristol County has been awarded $359,650 in federal funds to supplement local emergency food and shelter programs. These funds fall under the Emergency Food and Shelter National Board Program (EFSP) Phase 38. The federal department responsible for this program is the Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) – these are not state/county government or United Way Funds. United Way of Greater New Bedford serves as the local manager for Bristol County.

“The selection was made by a National Board that is chaired by the U. S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency and consists of representatives from American Red Cross; Catholic Charities, USA; National Council of the Churches of Christ in the USA; The Jewish Federations of North America, The Salvation Army; and United Way Worldwide. The Local Board was charged to distribute funds appropriated by Congress to help expand the capacity of food and shelter programs in high-need areas around the country.”

Applications from organizations in the specific categories of emergency food, emergency shelter, rent/mortgage assistance, and utility assistance are now being accepted. Completed applications are due on January 25 no later than 4 pm at the United Way of Greater New Bedford located at 128 Union St., Suite 105, New Bedford.

Under the terms of the grant from the National Board, local organizations chosen to receive funds must:

  1. Be a nonprofit
  2. Have an accounting system and conduct an annual audit
  3. Practice nondiscrimination
  4. Have demonstrated the capability to deliver emergency food and/or shelter programs
  5. If they are a private voluntary organization, they must have a voluntary board

Qualifying organizations are urged to apply. Any applicant who services clients from more than one of the four major cities in Bristol County must submit a separate budget for each city. The four cities are:

  1. Attleboro
  2. Fall River
  3. New Bedford
  4. Taunton

If you have any questions, please direct your inquiries to Michelle N. Hantman, 508-994-9625, ext. 212 or mhantman@unitedwayofgnb.org.

WFHN-FM/FUN 107 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

LOOK: Just some of the photos that capture the historic year that was 2020

More From WFHN-FM/FUN 107