In Home Alone, little Kevin McCallister accidentally gets left behind by his family as they fly to France for Christmas vacation. If you've seen the holiday classic even once in the last 30 years, you know everything turns out fine for the boy despite him encountering two not-so-nice guys. In real life, the situation could have turned out differently.

So, what does the law say about leaving kids at home alone? How old do the kiddos have to be for it to be legally OK?

In Massachisetts, it turns out, there is no age limit when it comes to leaving your children at home.

WFHN-FM/FUN 107 logo
Get our free mobile app

Go ahead and Google it if you don't believe us. There is no written law stating an age anywhere. In some states, the minimum age is spelled out, and usually between 9 and 13. Some states even have time limits. For example, in Georgia, you can leave a child between 9 and 12  alone for no more than two hours.


For the record, Home Alone was filmed in Illinois where the law states that no child under 14 is allowed to be left alone. It makes you wonder if the McCallisters faced legal consequences.

Massachusetts Laws You Don't Even Know You're Breaking

There are a lot of strange laws still on the books in Massachusetts, many that also carry actual punishments and fines. Though we're pretty sure no one has been arrested for the crimes we're about to list, we're also pretty sure you have violated at least one of these laws in the last month or so.

Gallery Credit: Nancy Hall

Unique North Dartmouth Home Hits the Market

A "chateau-inspired" home at 25 Tolland Path in Dartmouth is on the market for $949,000, boasting balconies, several bedrooms and bathrooms, and a clean, modern look throughout. Take a look.

Gallery Credit: Jackson Scott

More From WFHN-FM/FUN 107