FALL RIVER (WBSM) — Incumbent Fall River Mayor Paul Coogan will serve a third term after defeating former Mayor Sam Sutter Tuesday.

Unofficial results have Coogan tallying 6,643 votes (60 percent) to Sutter’s 4,310 (39 percent).

Coogan was first elected in 2019, defeating Cathy Ann Viveiros, and again in 2021, defeating Cliff Ponte.

Sutter, the former Bristol County District Attorney, served one year as mayor in 2015.

Get our free mobile app

Seven incumbents are returning to the nine-member Fall River City Council: Linda Pereira (5,848 votes), Bradford Kilby (4,813), Shawn Cadime (4,648), Joseph Camara (4,544), Andrew Raposo (4,338), Michelle Dionne (4,137) and Laura Jean Washington (3,502).

Former City Council President Cliff Ponte, who didn’t seek re-election in 2021 in order to run for mayor instead, returned to the council with 4,788 votes. Paul Hart (4,185) was also elected. Incumbents Leo Pelletier and Pam Laliberte did not seek re-election.

Hart’s successful bid for the city council meant his seat on the Fall River School Committee was open. It will be filled by former school committee member Thomas Khoury (4,638 votes). Winning re-election were incumbents Kevin Aguiar (5,485), Sara Rodrigues (5,018), Michelle “Mimi” Larrivee (4,810), Shelli-Ann Pereira (4,667) and Bobby Bailey (3,585).

Fall River had a total of 11,206 votes cast.

WBSM's Top SouthCoast Stories 10/30-11/5

Gallery Credit: Ariel Dorsey

WBSM's Top SouthCoast Stories 10/23-10/29

Gallery Credit: Ariel Dorsey

More From WFHN-FM/FUN 107