Kristy Acevedo, a GNB Voc-Tech English teacher, is now a published author with her new book "Consider", a fantasy young adult novel that's perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Divergent, and The Hunger Games.

"The next J.K. Rowling" is what SouthCoast Today is calling Acevedo for her tremendous first novel. Although it's only her first book, the manuscript had won a 2015 PEN New England Susan P. Bloom Children’s Book Discovery Award for emerging and promising young people’s writers from New England!

Acevedo has taught English for 15 years; nine at Voc-Tech and before that, at Fairhaven High for six. When she was a kid, all she did was hide in her room and read. Her "big sister" from the Big Brother Big Sister Program, who brought her to the Dartmouth Southworth Library, helped foster Acevedo's love for books.

Between raising kids and teaching, Acevedo had little to no time to write a novel. Now that her kids are older, she decided to try a sixth attempt at writing and has succeeded tremendously.

Kristy Acevedo is having a book launch party at the Barnes & Nobles in Dartmouth Towne Center this Saturday, April 23, from 2-4 p.m. There will be giveaways, a Q&A, meet the author, book signing, and more!

Additional Reporting: Mikaylee McEwan