Contact Us

Greater New Bedford Teacher Releases First Book

Author
Photo By Jessica Lavoie

Kristy Acevedo, a GNB Voc-Tech English teacher, is now a published author with her new book “Consider”, a fantasy young adult novel that’s perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Divergent, and The Hunger Games.

“The next J.K. Rowling” is what SouthCoast Today is calling Acevedo for her tremendous first novel. Although it’s only her first book, the manuscript had won a 2015 PEN New England Susan P. Bloom Children’s Book Discovery Award for emerging and promising young people’s writers from New England!

Acevedo has taught English for 15 years; nine at Voc-Tech and before that, at Fairhaven High for six. When she was a kid, all she did was hide in her room and read. Her “big sister” from the Big Brother Big Sister Program, who brought her to the Dartmouth Southworth Library, helped foster Acevedo’s love for books.

Between raising kids and teaching, Acevedo had little to no time to write a novel. Now that her kids are older, she decided to try a sixth attempt at writing and has succeeded tremendously.

Kristy Acevedo is having a book launch party at the Barnes & Nobles in Dartmouth Towne Center this Saturday, April 23, from 2-4 p.m. There will be giveaways, a Q&A, meet the author, book signing, and more!

Additional Reporting: Mikaylee McEwan

Lemonade Day is May 7th

Best of Fun 107

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://fun107.com using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Fun Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Fun Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.