Congratulations! If you are reading this article, you probably just bought an iPhone 5C or 5S. Now, you are trying to sell your older generation iPhone. Before you hand over the keys, it is a good idea to make sure you clear all of your data from it. Luckily, Apple has allowed this to be done with 2 super easy steps.

1. Back up your device on iTunes.

2. On your old iPhone, go to Settings > General > Reset, then tap Erase All Content and Settings. This will completely erase your device and turn off iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center, and other services. If you are using iOS 7 and have "Find My iPhone" turned on, you'll need your Apple ID and password. After you enter your password, the iPhone will be erased and removed from your account so that the next owner can activate it.

Your iPhone will now be restored to its original factory setting...free and clear of any of your data. When the phone is turned on for the first time by the new owner, Setup Assistant will guide them through the setup process.

***Important*** Never not manually delete contacts, calendars, reminders, documents, photo streams, or any other iCloud data while signed in to your iCloud account, or the content will also be deleted from the iCloud servers and all of your iCloud devices.